Lewis County's Leading Newspaper Since 1867
Weston, West Virginia


PONY Opening Events Are Set for Saturday

       Another PONY Baseball League season is set to unfold in Lewis County on Saturday, April 25, when over 400 players take to the Robert J. Conley Facility at Butchersville.
       Opening day activities are set to get underway at 11 a.m. with the annual " Parade of Players." Each player on the 36 teams will be introduced along with elected officials, PONY Board of Directors and county businesses who have been supportive of the local league.
       Regular season games will follow the pre-game activities. In the event of inclement weather, opening ceremonies will be moved back to 1 p.m. on Sunday, April 26.
       This marks the fourth year since the PONY League was formed locally in 2012.
       Through obtaining a $150,000 in grant funding, league officials have been able to complete various projects which have turned the four-field complex into one of the best youth facilities in West Virginia. Highlighting the new additions is an impressive indoor batting and fielding facility that allows players and teams to practice in inclement weather conditions.
       Teams in various age groups range from age five to age 14. The local league features teams on baseball and girls softball levels.
       John White is in his fourth year as president and oversees the 15-member Board of Directors. " Over the past four years, we have made great strides thanks to the help of many, many volunteers and local and area businesses,' observed White. " Without the many volunteers and the many businesses, we would not have made the progress we have made," White noted.
       White added that sponsors for some teams are still needed, heading into league play. Businesses and individuals interested in sponsoring a team for the current season may call White at 304-269=3632 for further information.

G3 Diamonds team members : Haley Sperringer, Belle Bennett, Jaiden Morris, Kelsey Riggleman, Jordan Walters, Sydney Golden, Cassie Queen, Hannah Basham, Kendra Lester, Hannah Davis, Brittany Mullens, Autumn Christafore, Khori Lowther, Haley Burr, Taylor McDougal, Hannah Moore, Hannah Detamore, Hannah Breen and Tenley Bragg.

G3 All Star Diamonds Win National Championship

The G3 "Diamonds" traveled to Nashville, Tenn.,  April 11-12, to compete in the One Up Championships held at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel. The girls had magnificent performances both days to win first place in the Senior 3 cheer division.
Each one of the girls received a National Championship jacket for their accomplishment and a National Championship banner to hang in the gym.


Girls Tennis Record 7-4

The Lewis Lady Netters won two out of three matches last week to bring their season record to 7-4. The team defeated Buckhannon-Upshur in two matches last week, while dropping their match to Bridgeport.
Lewis began the week with a tough match against Bridgeport High School. Lewis earned one victory in singles, when Brooklyn Perkey defeated Leigh Horner 8-6. In doubles, Shirley Zheng and Whitney Baker (3rd Doubles) defeated Olivia Rush and Emily Estonies 8-0. "We were in several matches until the end with Zheng's singles match going to a tie breaker. They are a strong team, but we can be much more competitive with them. Several matches came down to one point in each game. We just have to continue to work on conditioning and focus," said Coach Shannon Thomas.
The Lady Netters then had two victories over Buckhannon-Upshur High School 7-0. Madison Jenkins, Allie McHenry, Brooklyn Perkey and Shirley Zheng all recorded victories in singles. Jenkins and Perkey at No. 1, Mchenry and Nicole Taylor at No. 2 and Zheng and Barker at No. 3 recorded wins in doubles.
"Our team has worked hard this season to improve their mental toughness as well as better shots, but the next two weeks will tell the tale. It is time to close the regular season with a fight," said Coach Shannon Thomas. The team travels to Grafton and Elkins this week.






Search Now:
Amazon Advertisement
  Barnes & Noble University

The Weston Democrat 306 Main Avenue Weston, WV 26452 Office: (304) 269-1600 Fax: (304) 269-4035 E-mail: news@westondemocrat.com

Send mail to webmaster@westondemocrat.com with questions or comments about this web site.
[Legal Notice: Terms of Use for the Weston Democrat Web Site]
Copyright © 2007 The Weston Democrat
Designed by WV PC Doc, Inc.