Lewis County's Leading Newspaper Since 1867
Weston, West Virginia


Primary Election Voters
Will Go to Polls Tuesday
Big Turnout Is Expected
In Contests


A large turnout is expected for the May 10 Primary Election next Tuesday. As of the end of the day on Monday, 521 people had taken advantage of early voting by casting their ballots at the Lewis County Courthouse.
In addition, County Clerk Cindy Rowan said they have received 72 absentee ballots of the 94 sent out as requested. Thus the county had 593 ballots in house, meaning that a little over 6% of the county’s 9,845 registered voters have cast their ballots already.
Early voting continues through Saturday. Voters from all precincts can vote early at the courthouse today through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. and on Saturday, from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Next Tuesday, the polls will be open at all county voting precincts from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

To see the rest of the story, subscribe to our E-Ediition

Holt Services Next Saturday

The cremated remains of Helen Froelich Holt will be interred at Machpelah Cemetery in Weston, and a graveside service will be held at 11 a.m., Saturday, May 14. The cremated remains of her daughter Jane Holt Seale, who died in 2008, also will be interred in the Holt plot at the same time.
Helen Froelich Holt, wife of a U.S. Senator, mother of a U.S Congressman, college science teacher, first woman in statewide office in West Virginia, and federal housing official appointed by seven U.S. presidents, died July 12, 2015 at age 101 in Boca Raton, Florida. She lived in Boca Raton and Washington, D.C. The cause of death was heart failure. She had lived in Weston from 1941 through 1959.

To see the rest of the story, subscribe to our E-Ediition

Weston Gets New
Finance Manager


A new finance manager is on-board with the city of Weston. Dobie Arbogast was sworn in to the position by Mayor Julia Spelsberg at the conclusion of the regular meeting of the Weston City Council on Monday evening.
Arbogast, a resident of Jane Lew, recently retired as the chief financial officer at Stonewall Jackson Memorial Hospital where she began working in 1999 and brings a wealth of experience to the position. She holds a B.S. degree in business administration from Fairmont State College and has been a certified public accountant since 1990. She started working for the city on Monday.

To see the rest of the story, subscribe to our E-Ediition




Search Now:
Amazon Advertisement




  Office Depot Advertisement

The Weston Democrat 306 Main Avenue Weston, WV 26452 Office: (304) 269-1600 Fax: (304) 269-4035 E-mail: news@westondemocrat.com

Send mail to webmaster@westondemocrat.com with questions or comments about this web site.
[Legal Notice: Terms of Use for the Weston Democrat Web Site]
Copyright © 2007 The Weston Democrat
Designed by WV PC Doc, Inc.